Skype listening at port 80!


I was working on adding a forum to Tech-Coders.com today and I started my WampServer to test it locally. Before that I was in conversation with a friend over skype and I left skype open. And as usual I opened up ‘localhost’ on my browser and to my surprise the default index.php of wamp didn’t show up! I knew for sure that I did not meddle with any of the configurations of Wampserver and it worked perfectly just days ago. I looked at the system tray and noticed that the Wampserver icon was in orange color meaning that server is not able to start.

I was puzzled as to why Wamp was behaving this way. I sought for help online and found that one of the main reasons for the orange indicator is that wamp couldnt successfully start its service on the HTTP port 80. So I assumed that something else is occupying it. So I ran a netstat and to my surprise, it was SKYPE! Omg! I never ever expected skype to be using port 80. I did some reasearch about this and found that skype intentionally listens on port 80 so as to by-pass firewall and other restrictions. Clever 😉

Anyway, I promptly closed skype and restarted Wampserver and everything was normal again. And I also learned that you could prevent skype from using the ports 80 (HTTP) and 443 (HTTPS) easily by opening up “Options” from “Tools” menu. Then you need to navigate to the “Connection” section under “Advanced” and uncheck the checkbox that says “Use port 80 and 443 as alternatives for incoming connections”. Its as simple as that. Now you dont have to worry about running wamp and skype together. But there is also another solution. You could run Wamp as a windows service and thus it would be always started before skype. But I think the first solution is a better one particularly if you dont use Wamp very often.

Steve

4 thoughts on “Skype listening at port 80!

  1. Though it says “incoming connection” (which I did not pay attention – my fault) It is so naive of Skype to turn it on by default.

    Isn’t it foolish of skype to assume that users of skype do not advertise run anything locally on port 80. I hope someone would have taken a note of this…

Leave a Reply

